Early day motion 67

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned at the number of trades union representatives who have faced disciplinary action or been sacked by the Home Department in recent years; notes that strong representation for workers is needed when almost a quarter of UK Border Agency staff have admitted to experiencing bullying; is further concerned that Jon Biggar, a longstanding representative in the Identity and Passport Service, has been made compulsorily redundant after the Department broke its own rules which dictate that those facing redundancy should have preferential treatment for internal vacancies; is aware that Mr Biggar applied for various jobs within the Home Department and wider Civil Service but was barred on every single occasion on spurious grounds even when being the only candidate for a role; and asks that Ministers intervene immediately to ensure that the victimisation of workplace representatives does not continue, so that they can work towards achieving workplaces where all staff are treated with dignity and respect.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.05.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.06.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.05.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.05.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.05.2013
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 19.06.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 06.06.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 14.05.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 20.05.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 03.06.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 04.06.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 26.06.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.05.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.05.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.05.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.05.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.05.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.05.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.05.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 03.06.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.05.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 02.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 21.05.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 02.07.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 04.06.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 03.06.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 21.05.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.05.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 15.05.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 15.05.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 14.05.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 21.05.2013