Early day motion 666

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the impact of the Debt Relief (Developing Countries) Act 2010 in preventing vulture funds taking an estimated £145 million from developing countries; further welcomes the passing of similar laws in Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man; notes that vulture funds are trying to force Argentina to default on its debt through a legal case in New York; further notes that vulture funds are making large profits on Greek debt repayments owed under UK law, despite other creditors agreeing a reduction in the amount they are owed; is concerned that vulture funds are preventing the fair implementation of debt restructuring; and urges the Government to share its experience of legislating on vulture funds with the US administration, bring forward legislative proposals to prevent vulture funds ignoring international agreed debt restructuring for Argentina and Greece in UK courts, and support the creation of a fair, independent and transparent arbitration mechanism for sovereign debt.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 106

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 106 out of 106

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 09.01.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.01.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.12.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.05.2014
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 04.11.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 06.01.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 06.05.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 06.11.2013
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 09.01.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.11.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.11.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 24.02.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 07.05.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 16.12.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 10.02.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 06.11.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 03.02.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 06.01.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.12.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 13.01.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 01.05.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.11.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 05.11.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.11.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 07.05.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 09.01.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 08.01.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.11.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 12.05.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 06.01.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 06.05.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.12.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 08.11.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 06.01.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.11.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.03.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.11.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 09.01.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.01.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.01.2014
Gwynne, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 04.11.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 22.01.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 06.11.2013
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 07.05.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 13.01.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.05.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 01.05.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 20.01.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.11.2013
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 17.01.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 07.01.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.11.2013
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 24.02.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 05.12.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 17.12.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.12.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 04.11.2013
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 07.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.01.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.01.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 09.01.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.11.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 13.01.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.11.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.11.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.11.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 06.01.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 11.12.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 06.01.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 29.04.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.05.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 05.02.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 14.01.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.01.2014
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 16.12.2013
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 06.01.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.11.2013
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 11.03.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.11.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 13.01.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 06.11.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.11.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.11.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 21.01.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 06.01.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 29.01.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 06.01.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 22.01.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 06.05.2014
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 06.01.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 06.05.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 06.05.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.01.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 05.11.2013
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 30.04.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 09.12.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 06.11.2013
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 04.11.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.03.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.01.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 15.01.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 06.05.2014
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.05.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 30.04.2014
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 17.12.2013