Early day motion 656

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the Secretary of State for Health has suffered another embarrassing legal defeat after the Court of Appeal judges ruled he had acted illegally in deciding to cut accident and emergency and maternity services at Lewisham Hospital; has concerns about Government amendment 168a to the Care Bill designed to change the rules to give the power to any hospital administrator appointed in England to dismantle hospital services arbitrarily, as long as a neighbouring hospital is deemed to be failing; believes that this attempt to sneak through a fundamental change to the way decisions are made about local hospitals makes a mockery of local scrutiny and democracy; and calls on the Government to accept that it has lost and to stop trying to change the law to enable it to close successful hospital services that the community wants and needs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 43

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 43 out of 43

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 31.10.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.11.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.12.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 02.12.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.11.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.11.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 19.11.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 24.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.10.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 29.01.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 20.11.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 01.11.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 05.11.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 31.10.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 06.01.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 08.11.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.11.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.11.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 27.11.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 19.11.2013
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 11.11.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.10.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.11.2013
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 16.12.2013
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 02.12.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 18.11.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 30.10.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.11.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.10.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.11.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.10.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.11.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 06.11.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 05.11.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 31.10.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.11.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 31.10.2013
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 05.12.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 31.10.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 04.11.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 18.12.2013
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 06.11.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 18.11.2013