Early day motion 553

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 14 October 2013 marks the 100th anniversary of the Senghenydd Mining Disaster, the worst mining disaster in British history; pays tribute to the 439 men and boys who lost their lives in the explosion at the mine and the rescue worker who was subsequently killed; further notes that the 1913 disaster could have been avoided if the legislation passed following an explosion at the Senghenydd Colliery in 1901 had been implemented properly by the owners of the mine; and commends the work of the Aber Valley Heritage Group in organising a national memorial to those who died at Senghenydd and in other mining disasters in Britain.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 09.10.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.10.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.10.2013
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 09.10.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.10.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.11.2013
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 01.11.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.10.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.10.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 16.10.2013
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 09.10.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 06.11.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 14.10.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.10.2013
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 09.10.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.10.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 09.10.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.11.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.10.2013
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 09.10.2013
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 09.10.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 14.10.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 24.10.2013
Healey, John Labour Party Wentworth and Dearne 09.10.2013
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 17.10.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 16.10.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 09.10.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.10.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 15.10.2013
Irranca-Davies, Huw Labour Party Ogmore 09.10.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 09.10.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 10.10.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.10.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 14.10.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 16.10.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.10.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 10.10.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.10.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 28.10.2013
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 22.10.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.10.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.10.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 14.10.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 14.10.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 17.10.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 30.10.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.10.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 15.10.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 09.10.2013
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 09.10.2013
Smith, Owen Labour Party Pontypridd 09.10.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 15.10.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.10.2013