Early day motion 529

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is appalled at levels of violence suffered by workers who deal with the public, as evidenced in the 2013 survey from the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers, which showed that four per cent of shopworkers had been physically attacked in the previous 12 months and 35 per cent had been threatened with violence, and at the traumatising effects of these incidents for staff who have to face the continual possibility of attack or abuse throughout their working day as they are on the frontline of dealing with the public; is concerned at the paltry level of sentences meted out to offenders, often with a suspended sentence or with no custodial element; and calls on the Government to introduce a specific offence of assaulting a worker who is serving the public in order to ensure that victims of such violence are given the justice they deserve and to provide a deterrent.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 63

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 63 out of 63

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 29.10.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.10.2013
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 17.10.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 09.10.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 22.10.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.10.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.10.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 16.10.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.11.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 30.10.2013
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 08.10.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 23.10.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.10.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.10.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.10.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.10.2013
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 15.10.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 17.10.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 14.10.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.10.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.10.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.10.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 14.10.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 17.10.2013
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 17.10.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 17.10.2013
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 17.10.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.10.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.10.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 16.10.2013
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 03.03.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 27.11.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 22.10.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 14.10.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 16.12.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 17.10.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 28.10.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.11.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.10.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 16.10.2013
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 15.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.10.2013
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 17.10.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.10.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 06.11.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 14.10.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.10.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 30.10.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 14.10.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 15.10.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 17.10.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 15.10.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.10.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 08.10.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 15.10.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 10.10.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 24.10.2013
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 17.10.2013
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.10.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 17.10.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 30.10.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 16.10.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 15.10.2013