Early day motion 442

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the publication of the Statistics of Scientific Procedures on Living Animals 2012 report; expresses concern that 4,033,310 animals were used in scientific procedures in Great Britain in 2012, an increase of 8.7 per cent on the 2011 figure and the highest at any point since the current statistics regime was introduced by the Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986 and the third successive year that the number has increased; further notes that the increase contrasts with the pledge in the Coalition Programme for Government to 'work to reduce the use of animals in scientific research'; is very disappointed with the lack of progress being made on this issue; and calls on the Government to immediately publish its strategy on how numbers can be reduced.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 70

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 70 out of 70

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.10.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 10.12.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 21.11.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 02.09.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 17.07.2013
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 08.10.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.09.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.10.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 10.04.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 12.03.2014
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 08.10.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 11.09.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.10.2013
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 06.11.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 17.07.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 02.09.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 03.04.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.07.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.07.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.10.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 08.10.2013
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 17.07.2013
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 29.10.2013
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 08.10.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.07.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 08.10.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 18.12.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.07.2013
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 02.09.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 16.10.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.07.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 17.03.2014
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 11.11.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.09.2013
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 28.04.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.09.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 07.05.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 11.11.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.10.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 01.05.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.07.2013
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 15.10.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 20.11.2013
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 29.10.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 05.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.01.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 04.03.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 08.10.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.09.2013
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 04.12.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 08.10.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 02.09.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.07.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 29.10.2013
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 22.10.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.09.2013
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 12.12.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 24.01.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 16.10.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 18.07.2013
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 17.07.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 17.07.2013
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 15.10.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.10.2013
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 11.03.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 28.10.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 20.11.2013
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 08.10.2013