Early day motion 44

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the New Schools Network (NSN) received an initial grant from the Department for Education (DfE) of £500,000 in 2010, and that in November 2011 the Secretary of State for Education earmarked a further £1 million of taxpayers' money for the NSN to draw on, this on top of a further £746,000 being made available until March 2014; further notes that the former NSN Director Rachel Wolf commanded an annual salary in excess of £70,000 per annum before she left to join the Rupert Murdoch-backed New York free schools project and that the final salary bill rose from £46,000 in 2010 to over £280,000 in 2011; and considers that, at a time when the PCS union is staging industrial action over the planned closure of DfE offices and the Committee of Public Accounts has reported an overspend of £1 billion on setting up academies, the Secretary of State should be condemned for his profligate and deliberate waste of taxpayers' money.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 13

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 13 out of 13

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 08.05.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 14.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.05.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.05.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.05.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 08.05.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.05.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 08.05.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 08.05.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 08.05.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 15.05.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 08.05.2013