Early day motion 431

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that anyone can set themselves up as a counsellor or psychotherapist without training or experience with no recourse for the patient if something goes wrong; further notes that there are more than 50,000 registered counsellors or psychotherapists and an unknown number unregistered; further notes that millions of people, often with mental health problems who are therefore vulnerable and at risk, are being given therapy in an unregulated industry with no uniform code of conduct or ethics; and calls on the Government to regulate counsellors and psychotherapists by bringing them into the jurisdiction of the Health and Care Professions Council.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 17.07.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.07.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 29.10.2013
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 16.07.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 26.11.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.07.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 17.07.2013
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 15.10.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 16.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.07.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 30.10.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.07.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.07.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 16.07.2013
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 16.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.07.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 26.11.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 16.07.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 02.09.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 17.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.07.2013
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 10.10.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 17.07.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 02.09.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 02.09.2013
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 17.07.2013
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 16.07.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 18.07.2013
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 16.07.2013
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 16.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 17.07.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 16.07.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 02.09.2013
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 17.07.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.07.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 16.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.09.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 17.07.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.10.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 17.07.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 17.07.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.11.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.07.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 29.10.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 17.07.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 17.07.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.09.2013
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 18.07.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 03.09.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.07.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 18.07.2013
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.12.2013
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 24.10.2013
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 16.07.2013