Early day motion 430

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the announcement that the four surviving original copies of Magna Carta will be brought together for the first time in history in 2015 to mark the 800th anniversary of its issue; notes that Magna Carta is one of the world's most famous documents and that its principles are echoed in the British constitution and others around the world; congratulates the British Library, Lincoln Cathedral and Salisbury Cathedral on uniting the original copies; further welcomes the chance for 1215 members of the public to see the manuscripts side-by-side in a special event; further welcomes the opportunity for scholars to see the documents together for the first time; and looks forward to the celebrations of Magna Carta's anniversary in two years' time.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 02.09.2013
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 02.09.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 18.07.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 02.09.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.07.2013
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 18.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.07.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.09.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 02.09.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.07.2013
Davis, David Conservative Party Haltemprice and Howden 02.09.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 17.07.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 16.07.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 17.07.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.07.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 18.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.07.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 16.07.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.07.2013
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 02.09.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.07.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.07.2013
Howarth, Gerald Conservative Party Aldershot 02.09.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 18.07.2013
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 16.07.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 04.09.2013
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 16.07.2013
McCartney, Karl Conservative Party Lincoln 17.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.07.2013
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 02.09.2013
Mordaunt, Penny Conservative Party Portsmouth North 16.07.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 04.09.2013
Redwood, John Conservative Party Wokingham 02.09.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.09.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 02.09.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.07.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.07.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 17.07.2013
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 02.09.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 17.07.2013
Stuart, Gisela Labour Party Birmingham Edgbaston 02.09.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.07.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 02.09.2013
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 18.07.2013
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 02.09.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 03.09.2013