Early day motion 42

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that a new inquest is to be held into the deaths of 96 Liverpool fans at Hillsborough Stadium on 15 April 1989; further notes with great sadness that Anne Williams, who campaigned tirelessly for justice for her 15 year old son Kevin and the other 95 victims, died of cancer a week ago and will not see the outcome of that new inquest nor whether any police officer will ever face trial for their role in that tragedy and its cover-up; further notes that Richard Wells, the former Chief Constable of South Yorkshire, said last September it was absolutely essential that charges were brought against police officers involved in the Hillsborough disaster; further notes that a recent report by the Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC) concluded that Sir Norman Bettison, who resigned as Chief Constable of West Yorkshire in 2012, had a case to answer for discreditable conduct and abuse of authority for his role in the tragedy; further notes that the IPCC investigation into the disaster has begun to interview police officers as part of its wider investigation into the Hillsborough disaster; believes that it is outrageous that it has taken well over 20 years for the families to secure a process that could begin to deliver them justice; and calls on the relevant authorities to move with all speed to conclude their investigations and to deliver justice for the families.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 14

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 14 out of 14

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.05.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.05.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.05.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 08.05.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.05.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 03.06.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.05.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.05.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.05.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.05.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 03.06.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.05.2013