Early day motion 413

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that the UK invests 1.4 per cent of gross domestic product (GDP) in higher education, compared with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development average of 1.7 per cent; further notes that public support of further education fell by 5.9 per cent in 2010-11, the last year in which it was reported separately; is concerned that spending on research and development at 1.8 per cent of GDP is also lower than the EU-27 average of 2.0 per cent; is further concerned that the UK has fallen from third among the top industrialised nations in terms of young people graduating in 2000 to 15th in 2013; is aware that the cost of educational under-achievement in the UK is estimated at £22 billion for a generation in opportunity costs and costs to the public purse; is further aware that countries like Germany, India and China have prioritised investment in education in response to the economic crisis; believes that access to high quality tertiary education provides enhanced life chances for individuals, significant benefits for society and is essential for the UK's long-term economic sustainability; and calls on the Government to recognise these benefits and commit the UK to funding tertiary education at a level that can close the international competitive gap in investment with other countries and enable the UK to compete on an equal footing.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 106

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 106 out of 106

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 16.01.2014
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 23.10.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 02.09.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 18.07.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 02.09.2013
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 07.11.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 13.09.2013
Birtwistle, Gordon Liberal Democrats Burnley 04.11.2013
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 15.07.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 02.09.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.07.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 08.10.2013
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 08.10.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 17.07.2013
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 06.11.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.07.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.11.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 15.10.2013
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 02.09.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.09.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.07.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 16.10.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.09.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 02.09.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 07.11.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 17.07.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 15.10.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 16.10.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 08.10.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 05.09.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 14.10.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.07.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.07.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 02.09.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 02.09.2013
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 02.09.2013
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 15.07.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 02.09.2013
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 01.11.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.07.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.07.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 18.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.07.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 03.09.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 02.09.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.09.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 02.09.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 16.07.2013
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 28.10.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 02.09.2013
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 03.09.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.07.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 15.07.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 02.09.2013
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 17.10.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 02.09.2013
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 15.07.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 15.10.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 04.09.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 15.07.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 04.09.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.07.2013
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 02.09.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.07.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 02.09.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 02.09.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 02.09.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.09.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 05.02.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 02.09.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 10.09.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.10.2013
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 14.01.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 17.07.2013
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 02.09.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 12.11.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 15.07.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 02.09.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.09.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 08.10.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 03.09.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 02.09.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.07.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 17.07.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 02.09.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.07.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 02.09.2013
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 02.09.2013
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 25.10.2013
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 29.10.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 02.09.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 15.10.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 03.09.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 02.09.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 18.11.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 02.09.2013
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 29.10.2013
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.10.2013
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 02.09.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 13.09.2013