Early day motion 395

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the reforms of the Common Agricultural Policy subsidies were settled in Luxembourg on 26 June 2013; understands that the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, blocked proposals to limit the payments made under the Single Farm Payment to the very richest farmers; further notes that the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions lives on an estate which has received 1,517,535 euros over a 10-year period in funding from the EU whilst the same Minister has cut benefits to some of the neediest in the UK; expresses disappointment that the subsidy system will continue to disadvantage those with small to medium-sized farms; shares the belief of the National Trust and the RSPB that the Government's blocking of subsidy reforms is disastrous for farmers who help to preserve threatened species and beautiful landscapes; and calls on the Government to reconsider its position on farming subsidies and to shift its support from the richest landowners to farmers with smaller holdings and those who work to the benefit of their local environment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 15.07.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.07.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 15.07.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.07.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 16.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.07.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 02.09.2013
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 11.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 16.07.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 15.07.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.07.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 16.07.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 04.09.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 16.07.2013