Early day motion 392

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is troubled by the repeated misleading statements from the large leased pub-owning companies and the British Beer and Pub Association (BBPA); believes this is a cynical attempt to persuade the Government not to fulfil its commitment to reform the failing Pubco business model through a statutory code of practice for companies with 500 or more pubs; notes that these organisations have sent reports and other documents to the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills presenting them as evidence of the negative effects of reform when there is no reliable evidence to back up these claims; further believes this to be a desperate bid to stop the Government fulfilling its promise to enshrine in law the principle that a tied licensee should not be worse-off than a free of tie licensee; is especially concerned by incorrect and misleading statements made by the Chief Executive of the BBPA, Brigid Simmonds, when appearing as a witness before the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee on 11 June 2013; further notes that in her response to a letter from the All-Party Parliamentary Save the Pub Group detailing their concerns, Ms Simmonds has admitted to providing two incorrect statements; further notes that in the Business and Enterprise Committee's Seventh Report, Session 2008-09 (Pub Companies) pub company bosses were reported to have given partial and in one case positively false information to the Committee; calls on the Committee to take appropriate action; and further calls on the Department to properly scrutinise all claims made by those opposing reform.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 10.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.07.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.09.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 04.09.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.07.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.07.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 15.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.07.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 10.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 17.07.2013