Early day motion 387

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that the current review of the Construction Design and Management Regulations (CDM 2007) by the Health and Safety Executive (HSE), planned for August 2013, will remove the reference to individual competence; recognises that the inclusion of competence in the CDM regulations is vital to ensure that the number of serious injuries and fatalities on construction sites are kept to a minimum; notes that whilst direct employee and employer relationships are referenced in the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974, inclusion in the CDM regulations ensures that competence is extended to the supply chain relationships that are so vital in the construction industry; and urges the Government and HSE to consider retaining the reference, to ensure the principal contractor always has responsibility for checking all those working on a site are competent.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.07.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.07.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 15.07.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.07.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.07.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 10.07.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 10.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.07.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.07.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.07.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 02.09.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 15.07.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 15.07.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.07.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 12.07.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 10.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.09.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 10.07.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.07.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.07.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 11.07.2013