Early day motion 386

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the growing consensus for workers to be paid a living wage; notes, however, that cleaning members of the National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers (RMT) working for Churchill on the Tyne and Wear Metro have now been in dispute for a year in their campaign for a living wage and have scheduled a further two weeks' strike action commencing on 12 July 2013; pays tribute to the courage and determination of these low-paid workers to achieve justice; is dismayed that these workers are being denied a living wage despite Churchill doubling its profits in the last five years and the contracting company DB Schenker increasing its profits by 240 per cent; is appalled that, as DB Schenker is owned by German state railways, profits that could be used to pay the living wage and boost the North East economy are instead being used to support the German economy; believes that this cannot be in the interests of passengers and taxpayers; and therefore calls for an urgent summit to resolve this dispute involving the local transport authority, the RMT union, Churchill and DB Schenker.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.07.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 16.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.07.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.07.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.07.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 02.09.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.07.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 10.07.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 15.07.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.09.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.07.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 10.07.2013
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 16.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.07.2013