Early day motion 376

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the GMB trade union for bringing to light widespread blacklisting of employees in the construction industry and for lodging claims on behalf of 70 of its members in the High Court; notes that GMB is the first trade union to go to the High Court in order to seek compensation for those kept out of work as a result of blacklisting activity; further notes that contemporary blacklisting came to light when in 2009 the Information Commissioner's Office (ICO) seized a Consulting Association database of 3,213 construction workers and environmental activists used by 44 companies to vet new recruits and that, in particular, the ICO confirmed that 224 construction workers from around the UK were victims of blacklisting by Carillion; and unreservedly condemns the blacklisting of employees.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 10.03.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 18.07.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.07.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.07.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 18.07.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.07.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.07.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.07.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.07.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.07.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 10.07.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.07.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 09.07.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 09.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 10.07.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.07.2013
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 02.09.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 10.07.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.09.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 09.07.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 17.07.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 09.07.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 10.07.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 15.10.2013