Early day motion 368

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House reiterates its condemnation of the cowardly and cruel shooting of Malala Yousafzai and her two friends in Pakistan in October 2012; notes that Malala was targeted for her courage in campaigning against the Taliban and for education as a basic right for girls; further notes that over 60 million children across the world are denied the right to education; commends staff at Birmingham's Queen Elizabeth Hospital for their successful treatment of Malala and her recovery from her injuries; further commends the Because I am a Girl campaign to end gender discrimination in education; congratulates Malala on leading the first ever youth takeover of the United Nations General Assembly in New York city on 12 July 2013, her 16th birthday; welcomes 12 July as Global Malala Day; and wishes Malala the very best on her 16th birthday.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.07.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.07.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.07.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 08.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.07.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.10.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.07.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 10.07.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 10.07.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.07.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.07.2013
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 09.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.07.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 10.07.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.07.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.09.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.07.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.07.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 10.07.2013
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 08.07.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 17.07.2013
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 02.09.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 10.07.2013