Early day motion 339

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that English local authorities, which took over public health functions from the NHS in April, invest over £1.6 billion in tobacco firms such as British American Tobacco and Philip Morris through their pension funds; further notes that smoking causes more preventable deaths than anything else, nearly 80,000 in England during 2011; believes that these investments run counter to the duty given to each council to improve the health of people in its area under the Health and Social Care Act 2012; welcomes Public Health England's call for councils to divest from tobacco as part of their commitments under the World Health Organisation's Framework Convention on Tobacco Control; urges local authority pension fund managers to review their tobacco investments in light of ethical concerns and the high-risk nature of tobacco investments; calls on the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Public Health to send a letter to each English council leader urging them to divest from tobacco firms; and further calls on the Government to bring forward legislation to prohibit public sector organisations from investing directly in tobacco companies, in order to meet the letter and spirit of the UK commitment to the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 02.07.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 02.07.2013
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 02.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.07.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 02.07.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.07.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.07.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 02.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 02.07.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.07.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 02.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.07.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.07.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 02.07.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 02.07.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 03.07.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 02.07.2013
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 08.10.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.07.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.07.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 02.07.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 02.07.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 03.07.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 02.07.2013
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 02.07.2013