Early day motion 337

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the first Match Women's Festival being held in London on 6 July 2013 to mark the 125 years since the 1888 strike by 1,400 mainly women workers at the Bryant and May factory in the Bow area of East London; notes modern research by the historian Louise Raw that proves that the strike was instigated, organised and led independently by the match women themselves and then supported by others, after many years of dangerous working conditions, poverty wages and bullying by the match women's employers; further notes that the match women's strike in 1888 led directly to the Great Dock Strike of 1889 in the same part of London and, therefore, set in train the historic events from which the Labour Party was created in 1900; and believes that the match women's victory was also an inspiration to the Suffragette movement and for all those campaigning for equality today, especially on issues such as violence against women.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 108

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 108 out of 108

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 02.07.2013
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 02.07.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 09.07.2013
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 16.07.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 03.07.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 03.07.2013
Benn, Hilary Labour Party Leeds Central 11.07.2013
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 02.07.2013
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 17.07.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 16.07.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 09.07.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.07.2013
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 02.07.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 02.09.2013
Campbell, Alan Labour Party Tynemouth 17.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.07.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 03.07.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.07.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.07.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.07.2013
Cooper, Yvette Labour Party Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford 02.07.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.07.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.07.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 03.07.2013
Curran, Margaret Labour Party Glasgow East 02.07.2013
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 17.07.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 05.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.07.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 17.07.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 03.07.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.12.2013
Dromey, Jack Labour Party Birmingham Erdington 17.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.07.2013
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 02.07.2013
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 16.07.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 02.09.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.07.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 08.07.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 04.07.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 02.07.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 02.07.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.07.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 08.07.2013
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 17.07.2013
Greatrex, Tom Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 03.07.2013
Greenwood, Lilian Labour Party Nottingham South 02.07.2013
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 03.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 09.07.2013
Hanson, David Labour Party Delyn 17.07.2013
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 17.07.2013
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 15.07.2013
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 03.07.2013
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Washington and Sunderland West 02.07.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 08.07.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.07.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 03.07.2013
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 09.07.2013
Johnson, Diana R Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 02.07.2013
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 17.07.2013
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 17.07.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 02.07.2013
Keeley, Barbara Labour Party Worsley and Eccles South 02.07.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 04.07.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 08.07.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.07.2013
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 17.07.2013
Mahmood, Shabana Labour Party Birmingham Ladywood 03.07.2013
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 08.07.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 04.07.2013
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 08.07.2013
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 08.07.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 09.07.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.07.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 05.07.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 02.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.07.2013
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 02.07.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 08.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.07.2013
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 16.07.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 03.07.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 10.07.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 17.07.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.07.2013
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 17.07.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 09.07.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 02.07.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 02.07.2013
Seabeck, Alison Labour Party Plymouth Moor View 03.07.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 03.07.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 08.07.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 10.07.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 17.07.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 03.07.2013
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Penistone and Stocksbridge 09.07.2013
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 17.07.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 04.07.2013
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.07.2013
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 02.07.2013
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 16.07.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 03.07.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.07.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 17.07.2013
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 09.07.2013
Winterton, Rosie Labour Party Doncaster Central 03.07.2013
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 17.07.2013