Early day motion 324

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes access to justice is a hallmark of a civilised society; further believes that the Government's proposed reforms to civil legal aid will severely limit the ability for many to access the justice system; is deeply concerned by plans to introduce a residence test for civil legal aid, which will remove legal support for many vulnerable groups including victims of human trafficking and domestic violence; notes that the residence test will also prevent many cases being brought against the Government when it is accused of wrongdoing abroad; further notes that the majority of individuals held in immigration detention will be left without support to challenge their continued detention; regrets the effect the proposed reforms to judicial review will have on the ability of individuals to hold public bodies to account; further believes that the proposals relating to prison law will effectively mean that justice stops at the prison gate; and calls on the Government to abandon its proposed reforms of civil legal aid immediately.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 70

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 70 out of 70

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 03.07.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 03.07.2013
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 03.07.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 04.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.07.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.07.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 03.07.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.07.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 18.07.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.07.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 03.07.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 17.07.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 03.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.07.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.07.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 01.07.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 11.07.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 09.07.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 03.07.2013
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 03.07.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 02.07.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 03.07.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.07.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 08.07.2013
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 03.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 04.07.2013
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 10.10.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 02.07.2013
Healey, John Labour Party Wentworth and Dearne 03.07.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 16.10.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.07.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 03.07.2013
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 08.07.2013
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 03.07.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 03.07.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 04.07.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.07.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 03.07.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 02.07.2013
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 03.07.2013
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 03.07.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 03.07.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 05.07.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 02.07.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.07.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 03.07.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 04.07.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 03.07.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 03.07.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.10.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 01.07.2013
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 03.07.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.07.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 09.07.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 11.07.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 02.07.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.07.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 03.07.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 03.07.2013
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 03.07.2013
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 01.07.2013
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 03.07.2013
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 08.07.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 03.07.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.07.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 03.07.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 03.07.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 01.07.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 03.07.2013