Early day motion 268

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes, as highlighted by the tragic death of a betting shop worker in Morden recently, that staff in UK betting shops are subject to risk from assault and abuse on a daily basis; believes that this risk is significantly enhanced by longer opening hours and single staffing in betting shops; further believes that the risk to betting shop staff has also increased as a result of the rise in the number of fixed odds betting terminals; recognises that the introduction of the Voluntary Code of Safety and Security produced by the Safebet Alliance - which includes the major bookmaking operators, Community, the trades union representing UK betting shop staff and other industry stakeholders - led to a 46 per cent decrease in robberies; and calls on the Government to reconvene talks between members of the Safebet Alliance to deliver further, much-needed improvements in safety and security standards for betting shop staff.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 43

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 43 out of 43

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 26.06.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.06.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 10.07.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.06.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.06.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 18.06.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.06.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.09.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.06.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 27.06.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 01.07.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 02.09.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.07.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 08.07.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 19.06.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 24.06.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.06.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 25.06.2013
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 18.06.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 26.06.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 25.06.2013
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.06.2013
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 18.06.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.06.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 18.06.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 26.06.2013
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 17.07.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.10.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 10.07.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 26.06.2013
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 18.06.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 01.07.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 03.07.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.06.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.06.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 25.06.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 26.06.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.06.2013
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 27.06.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 08.07.2013
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 05.03.2014
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 05.07.2013