Early day motion 240

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that oil from tar sands produces on average 23 per cent more carbon emissions than conventional fuels from extraction to consumption, according to peer reviewed scientific analysis from Stanford University; further notes that tar sands exploitation causes severe local environmental harm including deforestation and pollution, which threatens the lives and livelihoods of indigenous communities; supports the EU's modest aim of reducing emissions from transport fuels by six per cent by 2020 through the Fuel Quality Directive (FQD); considers accurate labelling in the FQD of oil from unconventional fuels as more carbon-intensive than conventional oil to be a sensible measure; believes that this labelling would discourage the import of unconventional fuels such as tar sands oil into Europe and contribute to the shift to cleaner fuels; further notes that the exploitation of unconventional fossil fuels is incompatible with the achievement of the UK Government's repeated commitment to keep global warming below a two degree increase and thus to avoid catastrophic climate change; is concerned at the intensive lobbying against accurate labelling of unconventional fuels in the FQD from the Canadian government and British oil companies with tar sands interests such as Shell and BP; and urges the Government to support proposals for separate default values for unconventional fuels, including oil shale and tar sands, during negotiations and in the vote in the EU Council of Ministers later this year.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.06.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.06.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.06.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 25.11.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 11.12.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 17.06.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.06.2013
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 19.06.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.06.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 24.06.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.06.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 03.09.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 19.06.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 12.06.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.07.2013
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 12.06.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 08.10.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 08.10.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 25.06.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.10.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 17.07.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.06.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.06.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 10.09.2013
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 08.10.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.06.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.06.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 18.06.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 08.07.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 15.10.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.06.2013
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.12.2013
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 03.07.2013