Early day motion 201

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the differences in the legal status and powers of seafarer and land-based health and safety representatives; is concerned that land-based representatives are legally required after appointment to attend a trade union-approved health and safety training course as soon as possible, whilst seafarer representatives are only required to undertake on-board health and safety training at some stage; is further concerned that this inferior status compromises the health and safety regime for seafarers working on UK-flagged vessels; and calls on the Government to take steps to bring seafarer health and safety representatives up to the legal status of their land-based counterparts.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.06.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.06.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.06.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.06.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.06.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 02.07.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.06.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 12.06.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 12.06.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.06.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.06.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.06.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.06.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 13.06.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.06.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.03.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 12.06.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.06.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 10.06.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 11.06.2013
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 06.01.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 10.07.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.06.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 12.06.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.06.2013