Early day motion 140

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House shares the concern of wildlife and marine organisations about the impact of the recent discharge by chemical tankers of polyisobutylene (PIB) and the consequent death and stranding of thousands of sea birds on the coasts of Cornwall and Devon; recognises that this matter is difficult to police and that the process of achieving necessary alteration in the International Maritime Organisation's Prevention of Pollution Convention would take many years, if indeed it could be agreed; and therefore calls on the Government to work with British port authorities - the United Kingdom Major Ports Group and the British Ports Association - and its European counterparts to introduce an interim voluntary code of practice which would require tankers to declare at each port they enter that their excess PIBs will be handled by portside waste handling facilities and not discharged at sea.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 21.05.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.06.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.05.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 21.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.05.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 11.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 21.05.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.06.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 26.06.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 20.05.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.06.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 06.06.2013
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 06.06.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 21.05.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.06.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.06.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.06.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 05.06.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.05.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 03.06.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 21.05.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 04.06.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 21.05.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.05.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 04.06.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 21.05.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 04.06.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.06.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 10.09.2013