Early day motion 14

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the importance of freedom of religion as a fundamental element of an open, liberal democracy; calls on the Government to use its influence, directly with the nations of the Arab world and indirectly through the EU and the UN, to protect Christians and other religious minorities under threat and ensure that they are not forced to flee from their homes and become refugees and asylum seekers; urges that any new constitutions fully support religious freedom as defined by Articles 18 and 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; and asks the Government to raise issues of religious liberty as a key topic in all dealings with the governments of the Arab world.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.05.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.05.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.05.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.05.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.05.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.05.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 03.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.05.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.05.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.05.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.05.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.05.2013
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 10.10.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 15.05.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2013
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 21.05.2013
Lilley, Peter Conservative Party Hitchin and Harpenden 20.05.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 08.05.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.05.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.05.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.05.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 15.05.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.05.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.05.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 15.05.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.05.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 08.07.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.05.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 15.05.2013