Early day motion 133

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that on 16 May 2013 the hunger strike by detainees at Guantanamo Bay entered its 100th day; is deeply concerned by the updated guidelines for force feeding hunger-strikers in Guantanamo Bay, which allow inmates to be shackled to a chair, fitted with a mask and have tubes inserted through their nose and into their stomachs for up to two hours at a time; expresses its disappointment that over four years after President Obama's pledge to close the camp it remains open; further notes with dismay that British resident Shaker Aamer has been held without charge in Guantanamo Bay for over 10 years despite being cleared for transfer in 2007; and calls on the Government urgently to work with the US administration to ensure Mr Aamer returns home and Guantanamo Bay is closed as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.06.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.06.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.05.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 21.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.05.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.05.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.06.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 11.06.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 26.06.2013
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 06.06.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.06.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 06.06.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.06.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.06.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.06.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 04.06.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.05.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 03.06.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.05.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 30.04.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 09.07.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.07.2013
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 20.05.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.06.2013