Early day motion 1290

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Trading Standards Workforce Survey published by the National Trading Standards Board and the Trading Standards Institute (TSI); expresses concern at the cuts to local authority trading standards services of up to 86 per cent; recognises these cuts to trading standards put the public at risk of rogue traders, scams and unsafe products; believes that the Government has a duty to maintain adequate consumer protection in the UK and therefore agrees with the TSI that the National Audit Office should look at the system of consumer protection in its entirety including local enforcement when reviewing changes to the consumer landscape; and urges the Government to work with trading standards and local authorities to find solutions.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 06.05.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.05.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 12.05.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.04.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 29.04.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.05.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.05.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.05.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.05.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.04.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 07.05.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 30.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.05.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.05.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.05.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 06.05.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 29.04.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.05.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 07.05.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 29.04.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 28.04.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 30.04.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 13.05.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.05.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 29.04.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 12.05.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 30.04.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.05.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 12.05.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 07.05.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 12.05.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 08.05.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 29.04.2014
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 07.05.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.05.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 07.05.2014