Early day motion 1271

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the violations of medical neutrality in Bahrain since 2011; expresses deep concern regarding the attacks on medical professionals, the militarisation of the central public medical facility in that country, the dismissal of medical professionals who assisted injured protesters and the administration of military trials against medical professionals who delivered medical care to the wounded; notes the failure of the Bahraini government to bring an end to such violations, as evidenced by the continued detention of Dr Ali al-Ekri and the failure to reinstate all dismissed medical professionals to their previous positions; further notes the recommendations of the Foreign Affairs Committee in its Fifth Report of Session 2013-14 on UK Relations with Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, HC 88, in particular the recommendation that Bahrain should be designated as a country of concern if there is no significant progress by the start of 2014; believes that this progress has not been made; and urges the Government to designate Bahrain as a country of concern and to make strong representations to the Bahraini government to end its violations of medical neutrality.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 08.04.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.04.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.04.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 10.04.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 08.04.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.04.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.05.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.04.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.04.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.04.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 28.04.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 30.04.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 28.04.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 29.04.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 30.04.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.04.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.04.2014
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 10.04.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.04.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 09.04.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 12.05.2014