Early day motion 1257

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 17 April 2014 marks the 175th anniversary of Thomas Clarkson and fellow abolitionists founding the British and Foreign Anti-Slavery Society; recognises that Anti-Slavery International is now the world's oldest international human rights organisation; acknowledges its historic contribution to so many major human rights milestones in the form of national actions and legislation, international treaties, or conventions and corporate standards; appreciates its ongoing work to expose and oppose all the modern facets of forced labour, human trafficking, controlled servitude, sexual exploitation, indentured poverty, child exploitation and other slavery-related abuses; further recognises the other courageous activists across the world who work with Anti-Slavery to expose slavery wherever it occurs and work for sustainable measures to eradicate it; and salutes Anti-Slavery International as a vital organisation for our times, bringing long historical and broad geographic perspective to the contemporary struggle to secure justice and rights for the 21 million people still bonded in slavery across the world in 2014.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 73

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 73 out of 73

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 08.04.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 07.04.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 07.04.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.04.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 28.04.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 28.04.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 08.04.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.04.2014
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 07.04.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 07.04.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.04.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.04.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 08.04.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 08.04.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 01.05.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.05.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 08.04.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 09.04.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 29.04.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 08.04.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 02.04.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 07.04.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 03.04.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.04.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 28.04.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 07.04.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 07.04.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 03.04.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 12.05.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.04.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.05.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.04.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.04.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 28.04.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.04.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 07.04.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 08.04.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.04.2014
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 28.04.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 09.04.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 10.04.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.04.2014
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 28.04.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 28.04.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 10.04.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 01.05.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.04.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.05.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 28.04.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.04.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.04.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.04.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.04.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 30.04.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.04.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.05.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.04.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 09.04.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.05.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 10.04.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.04.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 07.04.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.04.2014
Spelman, Caroline Conservative Party Meriden 09.04.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 07.04.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 07.04.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 09.04.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 08.04.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.04.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 28.04.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 06.05.2014
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 28.04.2014