Early day motion 1244

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commends the Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians and Building & Woodworkers International for organising a mission to Qatar to draw attention to the appalling health and safety standards on construction sites to which migrant workers are subjected; welcomes the exposé by Kevin Maguire of the Daily Mirror, highlighting the labour camps where tens of thousands of migrant workers are forced to live in abject squalor in overcrowded, insanitary accommodation; condemns the endemic poverty pay where skilled migrant workers, such as carpenters, receive as little as 56 pence per hour; deplores the widespread practice by unscrupulous employers of withholding wages for many months leaving workers destitute and starving; is appalled that 1,200 migrant workers have been killed in Qatar since it was awarded the 2022 World Cup; deprecates the system of sponsored employment in Qatar, known as the Kafala system that denies workers freedom of movement and prevents workers leaving the country without the approval of their employer; regrets the Qatari authorities' refusal to ratify International Labour Organization conventions allowing freedom of association; and therefore calls on FIFA to put Qatar on notice that its right to host the 2022 World Cup will be removed unless action is taken within the next 12 months to stop the exploitation of migrant workers by ending the Kafala system, ensuring all migrant workers are covered by the standards contained in Qatar's Supreme Committee for Delivery and Legacy Workers' Charter and allowing migrant workers to elect their own site committees and representatives.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 07.04.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 01.04.2014
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 28.04.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 07.04.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 01.04.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.04.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.04.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 08.04.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 08.04.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.04.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.04.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 03.04.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 01.04.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 01.04.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 09.04.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 01.04.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.04.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 29.04.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.04.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.04.2014
Engel, Natascha [R] Labour Party North East Derbyshire 01.04.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 02.04.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 28.04.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.04.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 08.04.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 08.04.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 07.04.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.05.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 01.04.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.04.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 02.04.2014
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 07.04.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 03.04.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 10.04.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.04.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 01.05.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 02.04.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 28.04.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.04.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.04.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 01.04.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.04.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 01.04.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.04.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 01.04.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.05.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 07.04.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.04.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 01.04.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 03.04.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 09.04.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 07.04.2014
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 01.04.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 06.05.2014
Walley, Joan [R] Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 01.04.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 02.04.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 28.04.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 01.04.2014