Early day motion 1234

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the plan to close, by June 2015, the Independent Living Fund (ILF) on which over 18,000 severely disabled people rely instead of being in residential care; questions the Government's rationale for local authorities taking over this funding given their higher overheads and squeezed budgets; notes that experts believe this financial pressure and loss of experienced ILF staff will mean current recipients will be placed in residential care or left at home without adequate care provision; further notes that many users will no longer be eligible for any local authority care funding because of tightening of eligibility criteria; is aware that the average cost of the ILF at £345 per week is less than half that of the average cost of residential care at £738 per week; is reminded that in November 2013 the Court of Appeal upheld a legal challenge to the Government's decision to close the ILF in March 2015, because the Department for Work and Pensions had breached equality duties; and urges the Government to respect its obligations under the UN Convention of the Rights of Disabled Persons by maintaining the ILF and reopening applications which were closed in 2010.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 06.05.2014
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 08.04.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 06.05.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 07.04.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 31.03.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 01.04.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 08.05.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 02.04.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.04.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 08.04.2014
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 30.04.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.05.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 03.04.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 09.04.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 01.04.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 29.04.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 08.04.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 31.03.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 01.04.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.04.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 28.04.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 08.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 07.04.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.05.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.04.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 28.04.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 28.04.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.04.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 13.05.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 01.05.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 06.05.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.04.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 01.04.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 02.04.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 03.04.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.04.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 31.03.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 31.03.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 02.04.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 31.03.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 28.04.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.04.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.04.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 09.04.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 30.04.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.04.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.05.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 10.04.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 01.04.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 28.04.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 09.04.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.05.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 01.04.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 02.04.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.04.2014
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 28.04.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 12.05.2014
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 28.04.2014