Early day motion 1223

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the negative impact of tax havens and tax avoidance generally on developing African countries; believes that a reliable and robust tax regime is essential for the provision of services and amenities to developing communities and that local tax avoidance in such communities only further increases the likelihood of certain countries having to depend on foreign aid provided by taxpayers in nations such as the UK; acknowledges therefore the disadvantage suffered by certain developing countries as a result of Barclays Bank's Offshore Corporate Division and its promotion of Mauritius as a way of channelling offshore investment into Africa; condemns the practice of encouraging offshore tax avoidance in those regions and recognises that, as the UK's most prominent bank in Africa, Barclays Bank has an obligation to reflect the moral economic attitudes of the Government and the British people; and calls on the Government to condemn these practices and on Barclays to live up to its own corporate responsibilities by closing down its Offshore Corporate Division, becoming more transparent by making a detailed tax strategy public and proving that any remaining activities in tax havens are not linked to tax avoidance, further proving that Barclays intends to play a positive role in Africa on tax by demonstrating that it is pursuing a constructive and fully transparent relationship with the relevant tax authorities, and supporting the development of strong local tax collection systems and strong on-shore finance sectors in the African countries in which it operates.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 26.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 01.04.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 31.03.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 01.04.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.03.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 28.04.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 27.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.03.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.03.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.03.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 27.03.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 01.04.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.04.2014
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 07.04.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.03.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 27.03.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 26.03.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 02.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.03.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 26.03.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 26.03.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.05.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 26.03.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.03.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.03.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.03.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 10.04.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 01.04.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 25.03.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.04.2014