Early day motion 1214

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the release of Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani from prison in Iran; notes that Mrs Ashtiani was sentenced to death by stoning after being convicted of adultery in 2006; further notes the Early Day Motion tabled on 19 July 2010 to raise awareness of Mrs Ashtiani's case; further notes that her case was suspended in 2010 after international pressure, including a letter to the President of Iran signed by 119 hon. Members, ultimately reducing her sentence to 10 years; welcomes the news that Sakineh Ashtiani has been allowed to leave prison; further notes the Prime Minister's involvement in raising the case of Mrs Ashtiani with the Iranian government; calls on the Government to urge the Iranian government to review other cases where women have been convicted of adultery; and further calls on the Government to put pressure on the Iranian government to outlaw the practice of stoning and other forms of the death penalty, flogging or imprisonment for those convicted of adultery, a violation of the Declaration of Human Rights to which Iran is a signatory.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.04.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.03.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 25.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.03.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 27.03.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 01.04.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.04.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.03.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 25.03.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 31.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 27.03.2014
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 25.03.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.04.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 27.03.2014
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 27.03.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 02.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.03.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 03.04.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 26.03.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.03.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.03.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.03.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 31.03.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 24.03.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 01.04.2014