Early day motion 1207

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that living standards have been under pressure since the recession of 2008-09 and despite the recent recovery in growth are not yet picking up, and that real wages for the average full-time worker have fallen by £2,800 since 2009; further notes that the reason for the squeeze, the longest since the 1870s, is weak wage growth; further notes that even on the more optimistic forecasts, real wages for those in the middle and below will not return to their 2008 levels until around 2020, and that whilst more people are now in work and unemployment is falling, too many of the new jobs are low paid, insecure and precarious; believes that a real, sustainable recovery which benefits ordinary people will require real wages to rise, and that this would not only relieve some of the strains on living standards but provide a solid underpinning for rising household spending and economic growth; and therefore strongly agrees with the TUC that Britain needs a pay rise, and supports the TUC's Fair Pay Fortnight campaign beginning on 24 March 2014.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.03.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 02.04.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 08.04.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.03.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.04.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 31.03.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 20.03.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 20.03.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 02.04.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 26.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.03.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 02.04.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.03.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 24.03.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 20.03.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 07.04.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.03.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 27.03.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 24.03.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 07.04.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 03.04.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.03.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 02.04.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 25.03.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 20.03.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 01.04.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 31.03.2014
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 27.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 26.03.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 09.04.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.03.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 20.03.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 02.04.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.03.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 09.04.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 26.03.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.03.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 25.03.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 07.04.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.03.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.03.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.03.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 31.03.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 27.03.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 01.04.2014