Early day motion 1194

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House opposes the staging of the 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix due to ongoing human rights violations in that country; notes that Human Rights Watch's 2014 World Report highlighted that Bahrain's human rights record regressed in key areas in 2013 drawing particular attention to arbitrary detention, ill-treatment and torture of activists, prosecution and harassment of government critics and a failure to hold those guilty of human rights abuses to account; expresses deep concern that in previous years Bahrain has implemented a severe crackdown before and during the Grand Prix, restricting freedom of movement of persons in the country, detaining and deporting foreign journalists and conducting mass arbitrary detentions in towns close to the Formula 1 circuit; recalls with concern that previous Grand Prix have coincided with the extrajudicial killing of protester Salah Abbas in 2012 and the arbitrary imprisonment and alleged sexual abuse in custody of protester Rihanna al Mousawi in 2013; further expresses disappointment at the continued failure to hold security forces to account for these abuses, as well as the arrest, detention and torture of 27 employees of the Bahrain International Circuit in 2011; and urges the Government to make strong representations to try and prevent the 2014 Bahrain Grand Prix from going ahead.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 25.03.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 17.03.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 01.04.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 17.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.03.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 17.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.03.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 24.03.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.03.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 17.03.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 03.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.03.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 01.04.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 17.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.03.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 17.03.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 19.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.03.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.04.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 17.03.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.03.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.04.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.03.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 17.03.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.03.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 10.04.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.03.2014
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 17.03.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 08.04.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.03.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 02.04.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 07.04.2014