Early day motion 1181

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the Society of Biology on organising the Voice of the Future 2014 event on 19 March 2014 at the House and on its continuing commitment under its Royal Charter to serve the public benefit by seeking to assist right hon. and hon. Members with a better understanding of science; notes that Voice of the Future 2014 is taking place during National Science and Engineering Week and involves young scientists and engineers from all over the UK, including A Level science students; further notes that the event will be addressed by the Minister for Universities and Science, the Shadow Minister for Universities and Science and the Government's Chief Scientific Adviser; further notes the special Science Question Time with hon. Members on the Select Committee on Science and Technology; applauds the involvement in this event of many of the UK's greatest science and engineering organisations, including the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Society of Biology, the Institute of Physics, the Biochemical Society, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Society for Experimental Biology, the Society for Applied Microbiology, the British Pharmacological Society, the Society for Experimental Biology, the Society of Endocrinology, the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, the Geological Society, the Royal Astronomical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Open University; and welcomes the contribution that Voice of the Future 2014 can make to building and maintaining a constructive dialogue between Parliament and the younger generation of scientists and engineers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 18

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 18 out of 18

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.03.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 19.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 17.03.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.03.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 26.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.03.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 13.03.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 17.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 19.03.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 18.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.03.2014
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 13.03.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 13.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 17.03.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.03.2014