Early day motion 1162

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Department for Education's policy review for the management of asbestos in schools; notes that the review was called following the Committee on Carcinogenicity's conclusion that children are more vulnerable to asbestos exposure than adults; further notes the evidence given to the Education Select Committee by a leading epidemiologist that between 200 and 300 people could die each year from their asbestos exposure experienced as a child at school; and calls on the Government to look to Australia where a National Strategic Plan for asbestos has recently been introduced which will establish long-term strategic policies for the eradication of asbestos disease and will set systems, timelines and processes for the safe removal of asbestos materials from public and commercial buildings, with priority being given to schools.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 28.04.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 11.03.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.03.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 10.03.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.03.2014
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 12.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.03.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.03.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 13.03.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.03.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.03.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 19.03.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.03.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 12.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.03.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.03.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 12.03.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 12.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.03.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 11.03.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 13.03.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 17.03.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 17.03.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 25.03.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 13.03.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.03.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 10.03.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.03.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 13.03.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 17.03.2014