Early day motion 1159

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that local government and school support workers provide an excellent and essential service to the public; expresses concern about levels of local government pay; further recognises that local government workers have endured a real terms 18 per cent reduction in basic pay since 2010; believes that low pay in local government is resulting in significant economic hardship for them and their families; supports the National Joint Council (NJC) pay claim for 2014-15; notes that this would deliver the Living Wage for the 500,000 lowest paid local government workers; further notes that 55 per cent of the cost of the claim could be met through increased tax and national insurance income and reduced spending on in-work-benefits; and therefore calls on local government employers to accept the NJC claim and offer a pay award which includes an emphasis on fair rewards for the lowest paid and hard-pressed sections of the workforce.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.03.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.03.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 18.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.03.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 19.03.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.03.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.03.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 12.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.03.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 10.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.03.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.03.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.03.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 11.03.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 13.03.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 17.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 13.03.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 25.03.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 12.03.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.03.2014