Early day motion 1145

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Victims and Land Restitution Law in Colombia; notes with concern, however, the escalation of violence against communities seeking land restitution; further notes that in several cases this is due to the implementation of development projects involving foreign businesses and the production of agro-industrial crops for export; is alarmed by reports of violence against several communities in the process of land reclamation, notably the Afro-Colombian communities of Curvaradó, Cacarica and COCOMOPOCA and small-scale farming communities of Pitalito and Las Pabas, including reports that shots were fired at members of the Pitalito community, their leaders and lawyer; also notes with concern the escalation of threats against the human rights organisation, the Inter-Church Commission for Justice and Peace (Comision Intereclesial de Justicia y Paz), particularly in the context of increased killings of human rights defenders in Colombia; therefore calls on the Colombian government to provide adequate security and protection for communities, leaders and human rights defenders; and further calls on the Government to raise these concerns with the Colombian government and to report in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office annual Human Rights Report on the implementation of UN due diligence criteria by British businesses in Colombia in relation to land, in compliance with the UK Action Plan on Business and Human Rights; and urges the UK Embassy in Colombia to meet, monitor and report on the aforementioned communities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 31.03.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.03.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.03.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.03.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 29.04.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.04.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 13.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 12.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.03.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.03.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 11.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.03.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.03.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.03.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.03.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 11.03.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.03.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 06.03.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 31.03.2014