Early day motion 1123

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the Government is losing much more than £1 in every £10 it seeks to collect from companies to tax evasion and avoidance; further notes that according to a recent Institute for Business Ethics poll, the public is now more concerned about tax avoidance than any other issue of corporate conduct; shares the public opposition to companies that avoid and evade paying the tax they owe; further notes the emergence of boycotts of companies such as Amazon and Starbucks; welcomes, like ICAEW and others, the launch of the Fair Tax Mark and the certification of Midcounties Co-opeative, Unity Trust Bank and others, who have been accredited as seeking to pay the tax that they owe in the right place at the right time; believes that such a mark will usefully provide consumers with the information they need to make ethical purchasing decisions based on the behaviour of corporations, and ultimately lead to additional tax revenue being paid to HM Revenue and Customs; and therefore calls on the Government to endorse the idea of a Fair Tax Mark, to work with its founders to put fair tax at the centre of the corporate social responsibility agenda and to redouble its efforts to clamp down on corporate tax evasion and avoidance.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 12.03.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 05.03.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 04.03.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.03.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 05.03.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.03.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.03.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 05.03.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 03.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.03.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 06.03.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 10.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.02.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 26.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.03.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 27.02.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 04.03.2014
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 26.02.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.03.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 05.03.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 27.02.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 24.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 04.03.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 27.02.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.03.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.02.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 04.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 27.02.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 28.02.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 26.02.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.03.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.03.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 13.03.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 03.03.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 27.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.03.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.03.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.02.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 06.03.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 31.03.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 18.03.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 03.03.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 05.03.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 17.03.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.03.2014