Early day motion 1121

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House strongly condemns Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni's decision to sign into law the Anti-Homosexuality Bill which further criminalises homosexuality and introduces life sentences for aggravated homosexuality, making it lawful to report lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people to the authorities; is appalled that the Ugandan Red Pepper newspaper has published the names of 200 LGBT people putting their lives at risk; urges the Government to take immediate action working with its partners in the Commonwealth, the United Nations and the EU to make it absolutely clear to the Ugandan government and the members of the Ugandan Parliament who voted in favour of the Bill that their cavalier disregard for fundamental human rights is intolerable and to formally requests that the UN Human Rights Council investigates this persistent violation of LGBT people's fundamental human rights; and requests that the Government seeks to assist those affected in Uganda in every possible way by working with allies who share the UK's commitment to LGBT equality.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 26.02.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 27.02.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.03.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.03.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.03.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 19.03.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.03.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 04.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.03.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 04.03.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 27.02.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.03.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 03.03.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 27.02.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.03.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 04.03.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.03.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 03.03.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 28.02.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 05.03.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.03.2014