Early day motion 1095

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that since Qatar won the bid to host the 2022 World Cup the country has experienced a construction boom; further notes that in the last two years hundreds of Indian and Nepalese migrant workers have died working on construction projects in Qatar; moreover is extremely concerned that in the build-up to 2022 hundreds more migrant workers will die due to unsafe working conditions; and calls on the Government, the international community and FIFA to act to urge Qatar in the strongest possible terms to drastically improve working conditions, review the migrant worker sponsorship scheme and properly compensate the families of migrant workers who have been injured or killed.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 24.02.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.02.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 06.05.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.02.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.03.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.02.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.02.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 27.03.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 26.02.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.03.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 04.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.02.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.03.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 25.02.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 27.02.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 26.02.2014
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 24.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 25.02.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 26.02.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.02.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 19.03.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 13.03.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 24.02.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 26.02.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 26.02.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 03.03.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 26.02.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.03.2014