Early day motion 1094

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that on 6 February 2014 the Department for Energy and Climate Change (DECC) presented to Parliament a departmental minute concerning a contingent liability relating to an indemnity to be given by the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority in relation to the proposed Magnox Ltd and Research Sites Restoration Ltd Parent Body Organisation (PBO) competition (6 February 2014, Official Report, columns 33-4WS); recalls that a similar notification for Sellafield PBO indemnification was made in August 2008, with significantly negative implications for the public purse; further notes that the minute asserts that the prospective PBOs ‘are not prepared to accept liability’ for certain nuclear liability claims; further notes that despite international protocols being established to cover nuclear operational liabilities since 2004, the UK has not yet ratified them in the subsequent decade; further notes that the justification put forward by DECC to Parliament is that there is a ‘low probability’ of a claim against the public purse; but further notes with serious concern that the minute also reveals that ‘because of the nature of nuclear activities the maximum figure for the potential liability is impossible to accurately quantify'; believes that such a proposal unacceptably privatises the profits and socialises the liabilities; and calls on the Government fully to explain and justify the basis of the minute, and not to incur such an uncapped liability upon the public purse until it has received the explicit support of Parliament for doing so.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.02.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.02.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 01.04.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.03.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 25.02.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.02.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.02.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.02.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.02.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 03.03.2014