Early day motion 1046

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses serious concern at the anti-trade union behaviour of INEOS at its petrochemical plant in Grangemouth where it has dismissed Mark Lyon, the UK Vice-President of Unite The Union for carrying out his responsibilities as the elected convener of Unite The Union at the Grangemouth complex; notes that INEOS refuses to accept the Unite shops stewards elected by the workforce to represent them and is acting against the International Labour Organization (ILO) Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work 1998, particularly ILO Convention 87 on Freedom of Association and Protection of the Right to Organise 1948, and ILO Convention 98 on The Right to Organise and Collective Bargaining, 1949; further notes that INEOS is acting in contravention of the rights set out by the UK Government on the gov.uk website sections on Trade union membership: your employment rights and the role of your trade union rep; is concerned that INEOS is in line to receive £9 million in grants from the Scottish Government and has applied for loan guarantee fund support from the UK Government of £150 million; calls on the Government to make it clear to INEOS that actions in breach of ILO conventions and in contradiction of UK law on the rights of employees to be represented by a trade union and to take part in trade union activities is not acceptable in the UK in the 21st century; and further calls for the reinstatement of Mark Lyon and a negotiated settlement of points of difference between INEOS and trades unionists in its employment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 101

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 101 out of 101

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 13.02.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.02.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 10.02.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 12.02.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 05.02.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 05.02.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 13.02.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 10.02.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.02.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 24.02.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.02.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 06.02.2014
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 26.02.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 05.02.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 10.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.02.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.02.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 25.02.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.02.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.02.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 05.02.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 24.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.02.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 12.02.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 13.02.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.02.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.02.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 13.02.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 11.02.2014
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 05.03.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 13.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.02.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 11.02.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 13.02.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 07.04.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 24.02.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 04.03.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.02.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 03.03.2014
Greatrex, Tom Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 13.02.2014
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 05.02.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 11.02.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 13.02.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 12.02.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 06.02.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 06.02.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 11.02.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 06.02.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.02.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 10.02.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 24.02.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 06.02.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 05.02.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 05.02.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 06.02.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.02.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 11.02.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.02.2014
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.02.2014
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 12.02.2014
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.02.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.02.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 10.02.2014
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 10.02.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 10.02.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.02.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 13.02.2014
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 12.03.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.02.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 10.02.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 17.03.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 05.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 06.03.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 26.02.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 11.02.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 06.02.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.02.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 26.02.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 04.03.2014
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 05.02.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 06.02.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 13.02.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 26.02.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 05.02.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 05.02.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 12.02.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 27.02.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.02.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.02.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 24.02.2014
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 05.03.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 10.02.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 26.02.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 11.02.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 05.02.2014
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 10.02.2014
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 24.02.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 10.02.2014