Early day motion 1042

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the work of Dorothy Hodgkin (1910-1994), a pioneer scientist in the field of X-ray crystallography who, before the high-tech age, identified the three dimensional positioning of atoms in the molecules of various materials, including penicillin, vitamin B12, steroids and insulin; notes that this cracked the code, which then enabled scientists to make materials synthetically thus saving countless lives worldwide; celebrates that Dorothy Hodgkin was a remarkable woman who dedicated her life to biochemistry at a time when women in science were few and far between; further notes that she remains the only British woman to have won a science Nobel Prize, was the second woman to receive the Order of Merit in 1965, the first woman to receive the Copley Medal and winner of the Lenin Peace Prize; further notes that Dorothy Hodgkin was one of five Women of Achievement selected for a set of British stamps issued in August 1996; further notes that she tutored former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher at the University of Oxford; acknowledges that 2014 is the year of crystallography; further celebrates her passion for campaigning for peace and East-West understanding; believes that her achievements should be remembered by including her in the Key Stage 1 education syllabus; and calls on all hon. and right hon. Members to recognise and celebrate her outstanding contribution to science.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 04.02.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.02.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 12.02.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.02.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 05.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.02.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 05.02.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 11.02.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 13.02.2014
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 05.02.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 24.02.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.02.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 06.02.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.02.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.02.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 26.02.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 11.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.02.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.02.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2014
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 12.02.2014
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 10.02.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.02.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.02.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.02.2014