Early day motion 1031

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the 10th parliamentary elections in Bangladesh were held on 5 January 2014 and that over half of constituencies went uncontested; is deeply concerned about the levels of violence and instability surrounding the election; urges the UK Government to explore every available option to encourage dialogue between the opposing parties; calls for international bodies to apply pressure on opposing parties to resolve this situation at the earliest opportunity; condemns the violence, political harassment and arbitrary confinement; further notes with concern the effect the upheaval is having on the garment industry, which accounts for 80 per cent of Bangladesh's exports; and further urges leaders of all parties to find a way forward to make sure the people of Bangladesh can participate in a peaceful, inclusive, free and fair election which meets international standards.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 12.02.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.02.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 05.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.02.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 03.02.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 06.02.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.02.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 13.02.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.03.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 05.02.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.02.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.02.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 26.02.2014
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 03.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.02.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.02.2014
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 11.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2014
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 12.02.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 24.02.2014
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 10.02.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.02.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 03.02.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 04.02.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.02.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.02.2014