Early day motion 1025

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with grave concern that almost a quarter of the road crashes resulting in death or serious injury in 2012 involved a driver under 24 years and that young, newly-qualified drivers are disproportionately involved in crashes, particularly catastrophic crashes involving multiple passengers, which has pushed up insurance premiums for young drivers; further notes the research by TRL, commissioned by the Government, which found that a graduated approach to young driver licensing could prevent 230 deaths and save £224 million a year; further notes the statements by the Secretary of State for Transport and other Ministers that this Government would publish a Green Paper on the safety of young drivers during 2013; deplores the Written Answer by the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Transport on 18 December 2013, Official Report, column 629W, on driving: young people, in which he states that the Government is still wrestling with the issues; and calls on the Government to publish proposals for consultation without further delay.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 30

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 30 out of 30

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 05.02.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.02.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 30.01.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 06.02.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.02.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 03.02.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 06.02.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 30.01.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 03.02.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 05.02.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.02.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 10.02.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 30.01.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.03.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 05.02.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.01.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.02.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 24.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 30.01.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 13.02.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 04.02.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 29.01.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 04.02.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 13.02.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 30.01.2014