Early day motion 1023

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Punch Taverns, a standalone pubco which does not brew beer made, according to its own figures, an extraordinary £2.271 billion profit between 2002 and 2012 on selling beer to their own tied licensees; believes that this is a wholly unacceptable amount of profit for a company which merely acts as a broker; further notes that the standalone pubcos make considerably more profit from selling on beer than the companies who brew it, with brewery profit estimated by the British Beer and Pub Association as being as low as one penny per pint; further notes that unlike supermarkets and Wetherspoon's, the large leased pubcos not only do not pass on the benefit of this buying power to consumers, but instead charge their own tied licensees hugely marked up prices for beer often around 70 per cent more than the price direct from brewers or wholesalers and fine them if they buy elsewhere; further notes that the Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers' annual benchmarking shows that average tied rents are actually higher than free of tie rents; further believes that this shows that the large pubcos continue to take too much from pub profits often leaving little or nothing for their tenants; further believes that this is yet more damning evidence of the reality of the pubco tied model which is both unjustifiable and unsustainable; and calls on the Government to implement the Business, Innovation and Skills Select Committee market rent-only option for companies with more than 500 pubs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 03.02.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.01.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 10.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.02.2014
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 30.01.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 03.02.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 03.02.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.02.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.02.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.02.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 30.01.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 29.01.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 24.02.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.02.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 04.02.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 05.02.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.02.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 30.01.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 10.02.2014