Early day motion 1021

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the views of Frank La Rue, the UN special rapporteur on the promotion and protection of freedom of opinion and expression, that the Terrorism Act and defence of national security must not be used as grounds for harassing journalists who investigate sensitive subjects such as human rights abuses; further notes the comments of the former Lord Chancellor, who was among those who brought in the Act, that the powers were intended to be used only against people who are, or who might be, terrorists; expresses concern about the abuse of Schedule 7 of the Terrorism Act 2000 in recent cases, including that of David Miranda, detained and questioned for collaborating with Laura Poitras and Glenn Greenwald to bring the information leaked by NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden to public attention; expresses further concern that a UK journalist with the WikiLeaks team, Sarah Harrison, is in exile and has been advised by her lawyers that it is not safe to return home on the grounds that almost every story published on the GCHQ and NSA bulk spying programs falls under the UK Government's interpretation of the word terrorism; believes that Schedule 7 of the Terrorism Act 2000 is being illegitimately used to undermine freedom of the press; and calls on the Government urgently to review the application of the Terrorism Act 2000 and guarantee that it is not used to intimidate or persecute national security journalists.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.02.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.02.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 03.03.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.01.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 30.01.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.02.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.02.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.03.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.02.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 03.02.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 03.02.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 30.01.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.01.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 26.02.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 29.01.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.01.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 05.02.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.02.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.03.2014