Early day motion 10

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned at violence directed at Christian groups and places of worship in Africa and the Middle East; notes with alarm recent sectarian violence directed at religious groups in places such as Egypt, Pakistan, Mali and Sudan; urges governments in these regions to investigate any incident of religious violence and prosecute people responsible for these attacks; further notes with concern that there is evidence of state security forces being involved in some of these attacks; fully endorses the fundamental principle of the UN Declaration on the Elimination of All Forms of Intolerance and Discrimination on Religion or Belief; and calls on the Government to actively promote such multinational efforts and to put pressure on national governments to discharge their responsibilities toward protecting religious groups and eradicating intolerance.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.05.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.05.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.05.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.05.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 14.05.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.05.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.05.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.05.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 03.07.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.05.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.05.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.05.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.05.2013
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 08.05.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.05.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 15.05.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 13.05.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2013
Lilley, Peter Conservative Party Hitchin and Harpenden 20.05.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 15.05.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 15.05.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 20.05.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.05.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.09.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.05.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 03.06.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.05.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.05.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.06.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 15.05.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.05.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.05.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 15.05.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.05.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 04.06.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.05.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 15.05.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 14.05.2013